naoko shin

poetry breathes life into words…my words

sometimes the two sides of my head can’t speak to each other… | 8.24.05

“I could never translate this into Japanese”

huh,

saltyjuly

lit

mymind

mix

sweetgin

with

ripelies

this

feelcool

this

realcool

this

feelreal

but

this

bitterme

froze

myheart

and

I feel nothing.

“これを英語には決して訳せない。”
“kore wo eigo ni wa keshite yakusenai.”

蝉の鳴き声 ( semi no naki goe )
蒸し暑き、( mushi atsuki, )
風鈴の泣き声 (furin no naki goe )
涼しげに、( suzushige ni, )
寂しさに包まれ ( samishisa ni tsutsumare )
氷張った汗 ( kori hatta ase )
震える ( furueru )
心 ( kokoro )
凍える。 ( kogoeru )

swallow the stars above | 5.18.05

i fly,
wingless,
through the
breezeless
oceanic skies.

i look up,
gaping,
to swallow
those stars above,

my tranquilizers,
to numb all sense of

(
Self
Worth
Help
)
-lessness

tame mirage of
hopeless dreams
and dull the desire
to be skinned
and grow wings

* natural, remedial *

winded and sedated,
i fall
belly up,
down drifting,
euphoric
almost,

only to feel the safety
net catch me, lifting
me
up and out

of this misery
momentarily,

gasping for Life
desperately,

trying to flap back
Home.

my last thoughts:

“i only want to be a fish swimming in the skies screaming for a mouthful of stars”